The Umpire Development Committee has established several achievements and awards. Any Softball Manitoba registered umpire can nominate individuals prior to September 30 for:

  •  The Ellery Scatch Northern Umpire of the Year Award
  • The Grassroots Umpire of the Year
    • One award is given per region
  • The Wayne Deschower Umpire of the Year

The UDC also provides recognition when:

 A Softball Manitoba registered umpire receives WBSC Certification

  1. A Softball Manitoba registered umpire receives Level V Certification
  2. A Softball Manitoba registered umpire receives Full Level IV Certification (Theory and Practical)
  3. An umpire announces retirement from Softball Manitoba Umpire Program
    • Must have given a minimum of 12 years to the umpiring program.
    • They served in a volunteer officiating position for a minimum of four years.
    • They contributed to umpire development as an instructor, evaluator, and mentor or program developer.
    • Have a high level of officiating ability.
  4. Special Recognition Award
    • To be given to a non-umpire who has made significant contributions to the Softball Manitoba umpiring program.

Wayne Deschouwer Umpire of the Year Award

The Wayne Deschouwer Umpire of the Year is the highest award that a softball Manitoba Umpire can receive. It is awarded to an umpire who:

  1. Is registered in the Province of Manitoba and has a minimum Level II certification;
  2. Is an official in good standing;
  3. Has participated as a working official at local league competitions or Provincial Competitions in the Province of Manitoba;
  4. Has been involved in assisting with the development of officials at the local or provincial level;
  5. Has been nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to the Softball Manitoba umpiring program.

Our 2020 recipient was RICK KNUTT. Congratulations Rick!

Softball Canada Years of Service

In 2019, Softball Canada introduced a new program to recognize the efforts made by officials across the country. The first Years of Service Milestone Awards were presented at the 2019 Blue Convention in Montreal.

For 2021, the Umpire Development Committee in pleased to recognize the following Softball Manitoba officials:

25 Year Pins

  • Fred Shipley
  • Don Adamko
  • Kim Kosokowsky
  • Ron Westcott
  • Dave Wiens
  • Tony Kuleza

 15 Year Pins

  • Myles Blahut
  • Trevor Alexander

 10 Year Pins

  • Manfred Glor
  • Jayme Menard
  • Terry Brown
  • Greg Kostal

 5 Year Pins

  • Allan Miswaggon
  • Bernie Novak
  • Curly Knapp
  • Gillian Lambert
  • Jay Goudreau
  • Justine Rhodes
  • Madison Rempel
  • Brian Lemon
  • Joryn Buchanan
  • Jim Beaugrand
  • Fred Spiring

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information